ShopRite LPGA Classic Presented by Acer


For more nearly three decades, ShopRite has been a part of bringing

professional golf to the Jersey Shore. Located right across the bridge

from Atlantic City, New Jersey, in Galloway Township, home of

Seaview, A Dolce Hotel. The historic Bay Course is a

waterside golf course designed by the legendary Donald Ross. It is a

great challenge for the players and is regularly voted one of their

favorite stops on tour. The event has produced tremendous drama

over the years, and has crowned numerous notable champions like

Annika Sorenstam, Betsy King, Juli Inkster, Dottie Pepper, Se Ri Pak,

Karrie Webb, Cristie Kerr and Stacy Lewis.


Fans from all over the northeast make this an annual destination,

stimulating the local economy. According to a study conducted by

the Lord, Levinson Institute of Gaming & Hospitality Tourism. Over

90 percent of attendees come from outside Atlantic County,  and

annually creates an estimated $19.2 million in new economic activity.

And official rounds are broadcast to over 247 million households in

171 territories around the world on NBC’s Golf Channel – making this

a true showcase for the greater Atlantic City region.


A year-round tournament staff continuously finds ways to add excitement to the event each year, like the recent addition of the Oreo Family Fun Zone to entertain families and local food trucks to expand dining options. In the spectator village, tournament partners find an eager crowd to promote and sample their products and services.

For two days leading up to the tournament, amateur golfers are paired with LPGA professionals for a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity of golf and entertainment. Pro-am pairings are distributed at the VIP reception on Tuesday evening. Due to the overwhelming demand for the pro-am, rounds are distributed over the Seaview Bay and Pines courses, as well as the nearby and top-ranked Atlantic City Country Club and the Galloway National Golf Club.


From the teeboxes to the autograph line, from the Expo area to the multiple Skybox locations, there is something for everyone at the ShopRite LPGA Classic Presented by Acer.


Our History


The ShopRite LPGA Classic Presented by Acer proudly returned to Atlantic City and the LPGA in 2010 to the Bay Course at Seaview. The 54-hole event is annually contested in late spring and awards a prize fund of $1.75 million. ShopRite has proudly served as the title sponsor since 1992. In 2013, Acer, a Taiwanese computer hardware and electronics company, was added as a presenting sponsor.


From 1986 through 2006, the tournament was played at two different courses near Atlantic City, with the first two and last nine years played on the Bay Course of the Seaview Resort. It was a 54-hole tournament played over three days, except for 1990 when it was a four-day, 72-hole event. For a decade (1988-97), the event was played at Greate Bay Country Club in Somers Point, known as Sands Country Club until 1991.


The tournament was originally known as the Atlantic City LPGA Classic. Its name was changed in 1992 to the ShopRite LPGA Classic when Wakefern Food Corporation took over as the sponsor. The tournament was not held from 2007-2009, but returned in 2010 as a three-day tournament to be played at the same course.

Multiple winners of the event are Betsy King (1987, 1995, 2001), Annika Sörenstam (1998, 2002, 2005), Juli Inkster (1986, 1988), Stacy Lewis (2012, 2014) and Anna Nordqvist (2015, 2016). There have been two playoffs, in 1988 and 1992.



2019   Lexi Thompson (-12)

2018   Annie Park (-16)

2017   IK Kim (-11)

2016   Anna Nordqvist (-7)

2015   Anna Nordqvist (-8)

2014   Stacy Lewis (-16)   

2013   Karrie Webb (-4)    

2012   Stacy Lewis (-12)    

2011   Brittany Lincicome (-11)    

2010   Ai Miyazato (-16) 

2009 - 2007   No tournament

2006   Seon Hwa Lee (-16)   

2005   Annika Sorenstam (-17) 

2004   Cristie Kerr (-11) 

2003   Angela Stanford (-16) 

2002   Annika Sorenstam (-12) 

2001   Betsy King (-12) 

2000   Janice Moodie (-10) 

1999   Se Ri Pak (-15) 

1998   Annika Sorenstam (-17)  

1997   Michelle McGann (-12) 

1996   Dottie Pepper (-11) 

1995   Betsy King   (-9)  

1994   Donna Andrews (-6)  

1993   Shelley Hamlin (-9)  

1992   Anne Marie Palli (-6)  

1991   Jane Geddes (-5)  

1990   Chris Johnson (-5)   

1989   Nancy Lopez (-4) 

1988   Juli Inkster (-7)  

1987   Betsy King (-6)  

1986   Juli Inkster (-4)  


Seaview, A Dolce Hotel


The Bay Course and Pines Course at Seaview are among the most sought-after golf

courses on the East Coast, each steeped in history and maintained in tournament

condition. The ShopRite LPGA Classic Presented by Acer is played on the Bay Course.


Hugh Wilson laid out the original plan in 1914. Scottish Hall-of-Famer and legendary

designer Donald Ross finished the course the following year. The course sustained a

variety of changes over the decades. In 1997 Robert Cupp, Jr. began a comprehensive

$1 million restoration to bring the course back to the vision of its original designers.


1914 construction: Hugh Wilson

1915 completion: Donald Ross 

1998 restoration: Robert Cupp, Jr. 


Situated on the coast of Reeds Bay, just a few miles northwest of Atlantic City, N.J., the Bay Course incorporates a variety of challenges in its classic mounding, deep pot and high-faced bunkers, tricky seashore winds and small greens with subtle undulations.


The old-school design and spectacular vistas of the bays and marshes have made this links-style course a favorite of professionals and spectators alike since hosting the first LPGA Classic in 1986. Part of the Bay Course was also used during the 1942 PGA Championship, when Sam Snead took his first major championship.

By the Numbers


96 - average number players out of the top 100 on the money list that annually attend the event

1,000 - number of volunteers it takes to support the tournament.

$225,000 - amount of the first total purse, less than the amount now awarded just to the winner

$1.75 million - current total purse

2 - number of players who have won three times (Betsy King, Annika Sorenstam)

61 - tournament scoring record, set by Sei Young Kim in 2018 and tied by Sakura Yokomine the same year.

17 - tournament scoring record, set twice by Annika Sorenstam.

2 - number of playoffs in tournament history. Juli Inkster beat Beth Daniel in 1988, and Ann-Marie Palli beat Laura Davies in 1992.

Connect with us

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • YouTube Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • phone_clip_art_17054 2.jpg

Supported in part by a grant from the New Jersey Department of State, Division of Travel and Tourism